Pennsylvania Whistleblower Law

Pennsylvania Whistleblower Law

The Pennsylvania Whistleblower Law protects employees of a public employer from discharge, threats or other discrimination and retaliation because the employee (1) made a good faith report of an instance of wrongdoing or waste to the employer or appropriate authority, or (2) participated in an investigation, hearing or court action at the request of an appropriate authority.

Other state laws may also have specific provisions protecting individuals who provide information about their

PA False Claims Act

Pennsylvania has not adopted a False Claims Act. It is one of the twenty or so states which have not currently passed legislation to permit recovery of public money lost to fraud through government lawsuits and financial incentives to whistleblowers.

Local False Claims Acts

Both Allegheny County and the City of Philadelphia have passed whistleblower laws compensating individuals for bringing to their attention fraud against the government.

Allegheny County authorizes the payment of treble damages and attorneys’ fees and costs for civil actions recovering damages and penalties for a false claim for payment or a false record or statement material to a false or fraudulent claim. If Allegheny County decides not to proceed with the action, the individual can proceed with the action on behalf of Allegheny County.

Philadelphia has passed a similar law that also makes false claims for payment and a false record or statements to get a false claim paid or approved a violation that entitles the city to recovery of treble damages.

Each law has its own procedures and eligibility requirements which entitle the whistleblower to a reward. In this respect, both Philadelphia and Allegheny County (containing Pittsburgh) have joined New York and Chicago in the fight against fraud on the local level.

Federal Laws

Pennsylvania residents also are entitled to the protections and rewards provided by the Federal False Claims Act, IRS Whistleblower program, the Dodd-Frank Act, Sarbanes-Oxley Act and other applicable laws, when eligible.